Fabric Basket Swap

Fabric Basket Swap

I love fabric baskets! They have so many uses and best of all, can be made in your favourite fabrics. I mainly use mine to help organise my sewing bits and pieces but you could use them to store toys, stationery, bathroom things, the list is endless. And I love crafty swaps, so I thought I would combine the two together! For those that have registered to participate in the Fabric Basket Swap that I am hosting, here are the details:

  1. This is a secret swap, so please try not to give away who you are making for.
  2. Feel free to post photos of your fabric basket progress on social media, I’m sure we would all love to see what each other is making. I will be using the tag #fabricbastswap2014 on Instagram.
  3. Please have your fabric basket in the mail by Friday, September 5, 2014. You can mail earlier, but please not before August 22 .
  4. You can send small extras with your basket, it is not a requirement though and is totally up to yourself.
  5. Fabric baskets can be as small as 6″ x 6″ x 6″ and as large as 10″ x 10″ x 10″. They can be any shape you like.
  6. If, for any reason, you are unable to complete your fabric basket, please advise me as soon as possible so I can ask for the help of a swap angel. You can email me, send a message via my FB page or on IG.

I used the Nesting Fabric Bowls pattern by Nova from A Cuppa and A Catchup to create the fabric baskets in the above photo. It is an easy pattern to follow and provides the instructions to make 6 different sizes and some variations like adding handles or making the baskets square. Here are some others that I have made.

monkeymaifabricbaskets

The two smaller ones at the front I purchased from Piggledee. She makes wonderful items using the sweetest Japanese fabrics. I used the ‘Fabric Bins’ tutorial over at the Birch Fabrics blog to create the fabric basket in the back middle. It is a very easy pattern to follow and sew. I recently purchased the Divided Basket Pattern by noodlehead which I am very excited to try. I am hoping to get a chance to make it over the next couple of days so will post photos when I finish the basket. If you would like some more inspiration for fabric baskets please have a look at my Pinterest board ‘Time for Fabrics’.

Leave a Reply

